Tag Archives: Rockport Photo Bureau

The Road to Bearskin Neck, Rockport, Mass., c. 1934

In this view looking down Bearskin Neck, we can see three reminders of Rockport’s bygone days. The first can be found on the building that is slightly to the left of the picture’s center. Today, this building houses The Pewter … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Two Views Of Artists On The Headlands, c. 1930 and 1945

As evidence that some things never change, here are two postcards, roughly 15 years apart, showing artists painting Rockport’s picturesque harbor from above it on The Headlands. One is just as likely to encounter the same scene today (in warmer … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Freezer and Cold Storage Building of the Interstate Fish Corporation, 1918

In 1918, George W. Perkins — described in news reports as a “prominent fish magnate” — constructed this freezer and cold storage building on T-Wharf in Rockport. Perkins had scouted locations along both the Atlantic and Pacific coasts before settling … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

The Orchard Restaurant and Tea Room, Rockport, Mass., c. 1934

The Orchard Restaurant and Tea Room stood at 48 Beach St., across from Back Beach, in a building that is now a private residence. The sign above the entrance says, “The Orchard, Lobster & Chicken Dinners, Luncheons.” Below that hangs … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Rockport Then and Now — Motif No. 1

Here is another “then and now” image created by my son, Ben Ambrogi, by fusing a scene from an old postcard with the same scene as it looks today. For another “then and now” image, see Rockport Then and Now … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 5 Comments

Main Street, Rockport, Mass., Looking West, c. 1912

Horse-drawn wagons and carriages mix with motorized automobiles in this old view of Main Street in Rockport. The photographer, Charles Cleaves, would have been standing at the corner of School and Main streets. Behind him would have been the post … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Pigeon Cove and Tool Company from Pigeon Hill, c. 1912

This summer has brought the demolition of the iconic tool company smokestack in Pigeon Cove. In this view of Pigeon Cove taken from atop Pigeon Hill, the smokestack is clearly visible. Of course, the dozen or so cows you see … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment